Onesies, Twosies, Threesies, Foursies

1 Aug

I’m of that age when it seems nearly ALL of my friends are having children.  At times I’ve been a go-out-and-buy-it-off-the-list type of friend, but for those that I believe will appreciate the love and thought I put into it, I also make many of the gifts I give to them to celebrate their children’s arrival into this world.  One of my go-to items has been onesies for quite a  few years. From tie-dyed to logo onesies off the printer they’ve evolved, but thanks to a new sewing machine I have started appliqueing images and letters on onesies to specialize them for the babies and parents they are gifted to.

To adhere them to the onesies I use HeatnBond iron-on adhesive.  I follow the directions on the package to adhere the adhesive it to the back of whatever material I happen to be using.  This is a leftover piece of flannel that happens to match a blanket I made for the same baby.

First, I cut out the images I want to  create as an applique.   I cut these letters out using my Cricut, but you can just as easily print letters out on paper and cut them out with a scissors.  For another friend I made some animals and used www.dafont.com to find a free  font from which to print out free animals (as text).  Next, I traced the image onto the paper side of the fabric/iron-on adhesive making sure to invert the number so that it faced the right direction. This is especially important with letters and numbers.

From there I cut out the “K” and followed the directions on the HeatnBond to iron it onto the onesie.

I then zigzag stitched around the Exterior of the K.  I would suggest practicing your stitch and finding a stitch length and width that appear right for your letter.  The more  applique work I do, the better they look. One way to hide some of those imperfections  is to choose a thread color that is the same or of a similar tone to your fabric choice.

For fun, I added a small heart on the backside of each of these onesies which I made for my cousins twin girls. I typically press the final product one more time before packaging it up as gift.

Here is the finished product along with the matching blankets I made for the girls.

You can see other examples of onesies I’ve made below, including a MN state and an elephant onesie I almost didn’t want to part with!

MN onesie to remind the parents of the fine state where they met!

Elephants are just cute!

Did you have any favorite onesies for your kids?  I’ve got a stack of onesies waiting in the wings for babies. What would you applique?

6 Responses to “Onesies, Twosies, Threesies, Foursies”

  1. Nikki Berg Burin August 1, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    My favorite onesies were definitely the three that you made with 1) Eric’s bookjacket cover, 2) Bob Marley, and 3) Frederick Douglass. Four years later they are proudly displayed as “art” on an open wall in Max’s play closet!

    • Tashia August 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      I loved those onesies too! Perhaps I need to make a blog post one making those kinds. Thanks for the fun reminder!

  2. Sarah Lerohl August 1, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Among several fun ones, we got a sweet one of George W. Bush’s face and “Not MY President”, which we found ridiculously cute on our sassy girl, but I think it was mildly scandalous for our daycare provider… she was kinda humorless though… Love the onesies, love the blog girls!!

  3. Beth August 3, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I am in love! I just forwarded to my mom with the subject line, Make these for me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Double Layer Receiving Blanket « The Craftery - November 1, 2012

    […] receiving blanket has become my go-to gift along with the personalized onesies I wrote about in this post.  In those photos you could see this baby blanket project accompanying the […]

  2. What is it? | The Craftery - February 22, 2013

    […] can read the original post on my applique onesies here. Next week I PROMISE a new […]

Leave a Reply

