Perfectly Good Pots

15 Aug

This spring I had visions of turquoise blue pots of sweet potato vine and bright fuchsia blooms gracing my front stoop. I found workable plastic pots in a similar shade at Target, but instead of planting they sat inside waiting for me to be inspired.  A week or so later I stumbled into the East Calhoun Community Organization’s neighborhood garage sale.  What could I do, but follow the signs? I found quite a few treasures that day, but chief among them were these three clay pots. I was drawn to their shape and immediately saw their potential. At a buck a piece they were a steal!

I hustled over to the local Ace hardware store to see if I was lucky enough for them to carry the color of my dreams. Lo and behold there it was: Rustoleum Paint Plus 2X Ultra Cover in Lagoon.  These pots were relatively clean so I took a dry rag and wiped them down to remove any cobwebs and extra dirt.

I sprayed them with two light coats of paint- waiting about a half hour between coats.  This is after the first of two coats so this paint really did cover quite well.

And here they are potted up bright and beautiful on my front step next to the Target model I returned.  The Target pots were serviceable, but nothing compared to the bright pop and texture these pots now have.  The photo above was taken in early June and the photo below is what they look like today- althought the plants seem to have taken over!

Have you found any great finds at garage sales this summer?

One Response to “Perfectly Good Pots”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paint it blue and it is brand new! « The Craftery - October 8, 2012

    […] a few coats of paint with a can of Rustoleum in Lagoon I had left over from the pots I painted in this post.  Isn’t this a cheery blue? I can’t wait to use […]

Leave a Reply

