Easy Artwork Ideas

30 Aug

If you are ever looking for an easy, low-cost way to add art to your walls, there are several great sources that may already be in your home.  I had a large blank wall in our bedroom that I thought would be perfect for a gallery grouping.  I had been eyeing a number of artists that I really liked on Etsy, and found that one of them, OlaDesign, was offering a small calendar for a reasonable price (about the same as one print).  I knew it would be a great solution for my gallery wall.

I picked up a stack of RIBBA frames from IKEA for the project.  Once I received the calendar, I trimmed off the artwork portion of each month of the calendar, and played around with which ones I  liked best.  Because the calendar was narrower than the standard matte that came with the frames, I chose to cut my own mattes.  I have a matte cutter, and do this often.  One large matte board was enough to cover all of my frames.

Here’s my gallery wall:

Ideas for easy artwork sources:

  • Calendars
  • Cards/Postcards – especially from museums or traveling
  • Maps from your travels
  • Etsy
  • Local Artshows/Craftshows
  • Coffee Table Art Books (check out the discount big book section at B&N)

Where to find inexpensive frames:

  • Ikea
  • Michaels/JoAnn’s/HobbyLobby, etc – watch for sales – they often have 40%-50% off frame sales.
  • Thrift Stores and Garage Sales – You can find really cheap frames that can easily be painted/spray painted.

One Response to “Easy Artwork Ideas”

  1. mngirl5 August 31, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Love this! What a fun and creative way to decorate your space.

Leave a Reply

