Autumn Infinity Scarf

11 Sep

Fall is my favorite time of year. I love the cooler temps, especially when it’s not quite time for a full blown coat, but when throwing on cozy layers is just the ticket. And it’s boot season, of course! I think I’ve pinned more than a handful of infinity scarves on Pinterest by now, including a fun plaid flannel one that would be perfect for fall. One day, a few months back, I was getting ready to check out with some items at Joann Fabric, when I saw that flannel was on sale (plus it was that magical time of year when I had an additional coupon to take off the top of my entire purchase). With that plaid scarf in mind, I impulsively bought a 1/4 yard of fabric, thinking I could whip some sort of scarf up with it. After sale and coupon, it set me back a whole $1.89. Steal!

I have to say, this blog is a good motivator to getting my rear in gear on impulsive project purchases that have been sitting in the back of my closet for months! I found my piece of plaid last night and decided to whip that baby up just in time for fall! After looking at the smallish piece of fabric, I regret not getting a half yard for a bit more volume, but oh well, I’ll “make it work” in true Tim Gunn fashion.

I wanted the scarf to be long enough to wrap at least twice, so I decided to cut the fabric in half and sew together to double the length.  Once cut in half, each piece was about 9.5 inches wide and about 45 inches long.

At first I thought I would hem the sides and simply stitch the two pieces together on each end, but the more I thought about it, I didn’t like the idea of exposed seams and fiddling with hemming both edges.  My plan quickly changed to sew the two pieces together on one of the 9.5 inch edges, and then fold it lengthwise and stitch it closed like a long tube.

This brought the width of the scarf down, but I realized the length would allow for wearing it wrapped three times, which would help add volume.  Plus, this made for a very quick sew on my sweet ol’ vintage Singer!

Once I had my “tube” complete, I flipped it right side out, and carefully stitched the open side as much as I possibly could maneuver, leaving a hole open to hand stitch it shut.

I hand stitched the seam closed using an invisible seam stitch that I often use in my knitting projects.  Here’s a link to a tutorial for the specifics: http://quilttaffy.blogspot.com/2008/07/invisible-closing-seam-tutorial.html

I finished stitching and threw it on to see what it looked like.  I wrapped it three times for this final shot, but it could be worn longer if wrapped twice.  Not too shabby for $1.89 and less than an hour in the sewing chair!

How about you? Are you ready for the layer-happy cooler temps of autumn?

One Response to “Autumn Infinity Scarf”

  1. Angela G September 12, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    I love it! You are definitely way more ambitious than me with these crafty projects. Even though I may not ever do any of them, I love reading about them on your blog. It makes them seem less intimidating and scary to someone as un-crafty as me. 😉

Leave a Reply

