Baby Shower Pennant

18 Sep

When my good friends Bhasu and Simran agreed to let another friend and I throw them a baby shower we used their Safari themed nursery bedding as a jumping off point for the decorations as well. Ekta made a fabulous diaper cake and I spent an afternoon crafting with friends to make a pennant banner, which was all the rage on Pinterest for a few months.

I chose a few different fabrics and drew and cut out a triangle on paper that seemed right for my pennant size.  While I bought a half yard to a full yard of many of these fabrics I soon discovered that you only needed about 1/4 yard.  In order to save myself some cutting time I cut the width of my fabric according to the height of my triangle. I then folded the material so I could cut twice and have many triangles ready to go.  I cut each side of the triangles with a rotary cutter using a straight edge  as a guide.

I then pinned the right sides together and sewed each pennant on the longer sides of each pennant triangle.

Once the two long sides were sewn together. I flipped the pennant right side out and pressed it.  When all of my pennants were sewn and pressed I pinned each pennant flag on the inside of a double bias tape. I zig-zag stitched down the entire bias tape so it would be a nice finished uniform edge.

Here is the pennant in place at the shower along with the other decorations and the cake on the table. It was a fun project to put together for my friends!

One Response to “Baby Shower Pennant”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Debi’s Baby Shower « The Craftery - January 22, 2013

    […] could share that with you as well. Here is radiant mama-to-be Debi sitting below another round of pennants I made for this baby shower.  In last minute haste I crafted this one with scraps of extra fabric, […]

Leave a Reply

