Sweater Pillow

13 Nov

A couple weeks ago, I made some napkin pillows for my living room.  This week, I’m trying out another pillow option by re-purposing a sweater.  I’ve had a knit pillow on my knitting to-do list for ages, but figured this would be a quicker solution in the mean time.  I picked up this Men’s XXL cable sweater at a thrift store for $3.00.

I had picked up a lumbar pillow form from Ikea a while ago for a few bucks.  When I placed it on top of the sweater, the width of the pillow fit the width of the sweater perfectly, which meant I could use the existing side sweater seams for my pillow cover.


I used my rotary cutter to cut the sweater just below the sleeve line.  I decided to keep the finished bottom of the sweater and would figure out how I would close this side – maybe buttons, pins, or even a zipper.

Now all I had to do was sew the top seam.

I then inserted my pillow.  I’m going to play around with how I want to close the bottom of the pillow, but have left it as is for now.  Let me know if you have any ideas!

Here’s the finished pillow.

 

One Response to “Sweater Pillow”

  1. bethaustin November 19, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Love the sweater pillow!
    I miss seeing you!… Can’t wait for our lunch coming up in December!

Leave a Reply

