A Knitter’s Ornament

18 Dec

After spotting a cute ornament on Pinterest that looked like a ball of yarn with knitting needles, I knew I had to make my own version for friends in my knitting group for the holidays this year (and for my own tree, of course!).  Plus, this was another great way to use up some of my yarn stash.

To create the ornament, I used the following:

  • Scrap yarn
  • cheap ornament
  • wooden skewers
  • wooden beads
  • wood glue

IMG_1383

For the ball of yarn, I wrapped the ornament with yarn until it was completely covered.  When covered, I used my yarn needle to weave in the yarn end.  I recommend using an ornament that has some texture on it, otherwise the yarn just slips off the ornament when you start trying to wrap it.

IMG_1385

To create the mini knitting needles, I used wooden skewers and wooden beads.  I simply snapped the skewers with my hands to break them down to size, and then trimmed the end with a scissors.  I rolled the cut end of the skewer into the wood glue and then glued on the wood bead.

IMG_1384

Here’s the finished ornament:IMG_1388

This could be that perfect gift for any knitter in your life!

Leave a Reply

