Ch-Ch-Changes

3 Jan

My husband and I are expecting our first baby in the spring, so I must forewarn you all that this is likely the first of many nursery project posts in the coming months.  We started tackling the nursery over the holiday break, and first up  is a changing table makeover.

We are grateful to have recieved some hand-me-down nursery furniture from my husband’s brother and his wife.  The changing table is in great shape, but the look of the wood was a bit rustic for the style in our house, so I decided to give it a little makeover to create our own look.  Here’s what the changing table looked like before (the top shelf folds down for the changing table):

Ikea Diktad Change Table-735827

I had found a few things on pinterest that inspired me to do something fun with the drawers of the dresser, but I decided the first step was to paint the whole thing white, regardless of what I would do with the drawers.  So the hubby was tasked with priming and painting this bad-boy white (loving how this pregnancy stuff gets me out of a lot of the dirty work – I just get to be the artistic director!).

You can see more details on my furniture painting method in this previous post.  I’ve found the main thing is to use a small roller vs. a brush.  Here’s the AFTER picture of the first phase of the white changing table:

Changing Table After

Next up is to decide if I’ll do anything fun to spice up the drawer fronts.  Here is some inspiration I’ve found on Pinterest.

Tri-color

Tri-Color

Wallpaper

Wallpaper

Chevron

Chevron

Ombre

Ombre

6 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. jen b. January 3, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Tough call! I think it depends what color you are going with for the nursery…. I love the pop of color to the front, though, no matter what. Chevron is pretty trendy right now, which would sway me away – I like to be more unique, when possible…. I kinda love the Ombre, actually… just realizing I haven’t seen it before, and it is such a pretty gradient…. but the wall paper is super unique, and I bet you could find some really cool patterns/prints… and if you are going to keep it this way for a long time, the tri-colored drawers are super helpful for getting help – “Go put it in the orange drawer, please!” 🙂 … oh why can’t voting ever be just SIMPLE!? 🙂

  2. Tashia January 3, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    I do like the ombre although maybe in a different color?

  3. Rachel January 3, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    I like ombre – subtle and pretty.

  4. Beth January 3, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    1st: Wallpaper. 2nd: Ombre. 3rd: Chevron. 4th/last: Tri-Color.
    Can’t wait to see what you do! I love the progress already with the white!

    • thecrafterymn January 3, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

      Still deciding on the full color scheme of the nursery, so I’ll probably wait until I have more things in the room before finishing this. Loving all the feedback!
      Gina

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ombre It Is! | The Craftery - February 26, 2013

    […] few weeks ago I polled The Craftery readers to see which direction I should take next with my Changing Table Makeover.  I had already updated the piece by painting it white, but wanted to also add some color to the […]

Leave a Reply

