and I’m still crocheting the hat….

31 Jan

I had hoped to be done with this project by Christmas.  I started working on this hat on my way to Portland.  It is a free pattern on Ravelry, which is a great resource for projects- both crocheting and knitting.  I settled on this one somewhere over the Western United States with a cocktail.  I love vacations. Ah, temperate green Portland how I miss you.

airplane

But if I lived in Portland I probably wouldn’t spend so much time crocheting and sewing in the winter. I’d be outside enjoying it instead of cozied up indoors finding ways to while away these frigid Minnesota days.  Even still I haven’t been crocheting as much as I’d like. Two weeks ago I had planned for this hat to be complete for today’s post, but a nasty cold, prepping Fred’s condo for sale and several episodes of “frogging”  waylaid my plans. Did you know “frogging” was the term used for ripping out stitches?  Gina mentioned it when I undid many rows of stitches in front of her a few weeks ago so I did a little research. It’s also called tinking (tink = knit backwards).  It’s pretty easy to keep it under control when crocheting, but here is a detailed explanation of how to frog or tink your knitting project. Part of me hates pulling apart all of those stitches, but I must say there is something fun about pulling on a single thread and watching it quickly come unraveled. Also, frogs are my favorite animal.hat

This is a hat that was meant for Fred for Christmas in his favorite color, orange. It is a lovely wool blend.  It’s  the first hat I’ve worked on that isn’t crocheted in a circle (hence all of the frogging).  I figure a public pledge like Gina’s can only help this hat’s plight in my crochet bag.  I promise to have this complete by the last day of Winter.

3 Responses to “and I’m still crocheting the hat….”

  1. Fred January 31, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    46 days to go until I get a new hat!

    • Tashia February 1, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      Is that all? I figured I had until the end of March until the snow disappears!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank you Mother Nature! | The Craftery - April 11, 2013

    […] few months ago in this post I promised I’d have Fred’s hat done before winter was over.  The Spring Solstice has […]

Leave a Reply

