Five minute Jersey Scarf

7 Feb

For a while now I’ve been loving the look of jersey scarves on my friends and coworkers.  This past weekend- in a search for Alencon lace for my wedding gown(another post for another day)- I made it to four fabric stores.  While I didn’t find Alencon lace, I did manage to pick something up at each store!  But I digress, on Saturday my mom and friend Kara and I made the trek to the mecca of fabric stores in the Twin Cities:  S.R. Harris fabric outlet.  This place is HUGE! As in 30,000 square feet huge. This is just one quick shot I took of one aisle (they had four or five) of cotton alone.

IMAG1459

Crazy. Overwhelming. Wonderful.  Yes, it can be described as all three.  Everything is always half off of the bolt price.  The selection is crazy big and I’ve found amazing fabrics for my napkin project there.  On this particular visit I found a wonderful grey patterned jersey to make my long sought after scarf.  At $4.50 a yard it was a cheap scarf!

IMAG1475

I simply folded the fabric in half- right side in.  Then took the edges and folded them both over together.  I wanted a little cleaner seam on the inside and given the texture of this fabric it hides the salvage edge quite well. The beauty of Jersey is that I don’t have to finish the edges as it won’t fray.

IMAG1471

Here is the finished project.  Folding and sewing the seam took all of five minutes. (ignore the not-so-flattering 10:30 p.m. photo) I love the scarf!

IMAG1484

4 Responses to “Five minute Jersey Scarf”

  1. Sarah February 7, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey Tashia, you look lovely! What type of needle and stitch did you use? I have used a regular needle and a regular straight stitch on jersey before, and had the fabric go all wonky. Did you use a ball point and stretch stitch? Would you recommend something different than that? I’d like to try jersey again, especially a scarf like this, but have been discouraged by my past experience.

    • thecrafterymn February 7, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      Good question! This was my first jersey experience although I bought some other jersey just before Christmas to make a skirt and did buy a ball point needle for that project. For this quick seam on the fabric I didn’t bother with changing out the needle. I did bump up the length of my stitch to allow the fabric some give while stitching. Did you use a ball point needle the last time?

  2. Sara February 7, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    I can’t wait to check out this fabric store!

    • Tashia February 7, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      It is quite amazing. My advice is don’t just go to browse or you will quickly be overwhelmed. Have something (or a few things) in mind you are looking for. I forgot to mention you have to (get to?) cut your own fabric so at least you only have you to blame if you didn’t cut it straight. Have fun Sara!

Leave a Reply

