Baby Wrap Sweater

19 Feb

I finally got started on some baby knits for my little bambino. Or should I say bambina? I was looking for the perfect ensemble to knit for her first pictures or possibly the coming home outfit. I borrowed a book from a friend called Simple Knits for Cherished Babies by Erika Knight, where I found this sweet little kimono style wrap sweater pattern.

The original pattern has a ribbon tie that wraps around and ties in the back. It is very sweet, but I decided that some simple buttons might be a bit easier to handle on our little peanut (buttons also make this pattern less feminine than ribbon, so this could be made for a boy or girl). I didn’t bother with button holes but added small loop holes by braiding three pieces of yarn into the edge of the sweater.

20130219-122244.jpg

I also added a simple tie on the inside of the wrap to keep her snug as a bug.

20130219-122300.jpg

I used Baby Ull superwash merino yarn in a smoky lavendar color and size 3 needles. This would be a great beginner garment pattern for a newer knitter – it only requires knit stitch and an increase stitch. The sweater is knit up in one piece, and then you just seam up the sides and under the arms. It is also a pretty quick knit for a garment – I was able to complete it in about 2 weeks of leisurely paced knitting.

20130219-122326.jpg

Next up are coordinating hat and booties that I found in another book I picked up – I didn’t realize until I got home that it was the same designer – I guess I like her style!

Oh, and I still haven’t forgotten about my unfinished herringbone cowl – I have a pact to work on it between my baby knit projects! Knowing me, I’ll probably be finishing that thing up during labor. ha!

2 Responses to “Baby Wrap Sweater”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hat and Booties | The Craftery - April 9, 2013

    […] finished knitting the hat and booties I had planned to go with the Wrap Sweater I posted about a few weeks ago.  Just in time with less than a week until my due […]

  2. She’s here! | The Craftery - April 16, 2013

    […] is a sneak peak at some newborn pictures featuring the sweater, hat and booties I featured in previous […]

Leave a Reply

